Name: Thomas Hammond House
Year Built: 1890
Location: 1834 Pierce Street
Area: Uptown Port Townsend
Thomas and Sarah Hammond first settled in Discovery Bay, before building this house in 1890. Hammond (1816-1899) was an Irish immigrant and engineer and the father of 12 children. One of his sons, Thomas C. Hammond (1855-1922), was listed as telegrapher in Port Townsend. Sarah Hammond deeded the property to M.K. and C. A. Hammond in 1899, after her husband's death.
Owners through the years have included P.M. and Annie Coyne (1906- 1920), Peter M. Coyne and James H. Coyne (1920-1938), Agnes and Joseph Donovan and family (1938-1951). The Coynes were grandparents to the four Donovan children. When the property was sold in 1951, each of the Donovan children received $700, after probate, as his or her share of the sale. There were several other owners between 1951 and 1981, when the house was sold to Dr. Douglas Kurata.
On July 1, 1988, Dr. Gerald Boarino, a retired California professor, became the 14th owner of the property. In 1989, he subjected the house to a "sympathetic" restoration.
The house is Italianate Victorian in style. Though considered a cottage by the standards of time, it has a widow's walk, a pedimented porch, and brackets. The present owner replaced the railings on the widow's walk and porch. The brackets are original to the house. The unusual screens were custom made.
Dr. Boarino restored all the ceilings to their original height of 12 feet, exposing gold ceiling medallions in the living and dining rooms; he left the medallions in their original condition and !introduced crown moldings and baseboards throughout.
The focal point of the living room is the unique and rare marbelized granite and cast iron fireplace, hand painted in the Pompeiian mode. The light fixtures here, as throughout the house, were bought from local antique restoration dealer Nils Starkey. Designed for gas, they have been adapted for electricity. The eclectic collection of objects d'art include The Florentine Singer, an 1865 signed Dubois bronze sculpture; a porcelain 18th century French clock; an early 19th century mantle clock; a 19th century oil painting by Calvert, student of William Blake; and a 19th century Italian reproduction.
After the false ceiling was removed, the center part of the medallion was taken down and repaired. Before being put back, copies were made of it for the bedroom, library, and den. This room was enclosed by the present owner. The stunning beveled glass French doors admit light while allowing privacy. The sideboard, about 75 years old, contains early Wedgewood and Lombardy china pieces. Of particular interest is the collection of 18th century santos (saints) from Spain and the Philippines.
The ceiling medallion in this tastefully furnished room was copied from the center part of the dining room medallion. The massive library table is early 20th century, and the bookcase is an Eastlake piece. The handsome St. Anthony figurine comes from Ecuador; the crucifix is 18th century Spanish. Note the array of maps of Haiti mounted on the wall, all from the 18th century, except one that dates back to 1620. Especially noteworthy are the early 19th century prints by Alenza, a student of Goya.
Here is another copy of the elegant ceiling medallion from the dining room. The bedside lamp is Italian.
The deck was built by former owner, Dr. Kurata.
Note the old photos of the house, taken in 1912. The hanging schoolhouse fixtures date from the 1920s. The wall telephone (1905 B & R, made in Kansas and Portland) can receive incoming calls. The eight-day clock (1871) comes from Connecticut. The hardwood oak flooring was installed by the previous owner. Red oak floors in the living and dining rooms are about 40 years old.
Data modified from the National Register of Historic Places, the former Victorian Festival Heritage Home Tour, property owners and other sources. All material copyrighted by PTguide.com.