2003 Homes Tour
DR. GEORGE V. CALHOUN HOUSE, circa 1873
First time on the tour, this historic farm style home was the residence of Dr. George V. Calhoun. In 1866, Dr. Calhoun came to Port Angeles and took charge of the marine hospital. Two years later he moved to Port Townsend, where he established a Marine Hospital.
There have been no structural changes to the home. It has original wallpaper in some rooms and original sashes and wood floors. The home features two front parlors. One is a ladies' tea room, and the other is a men's sitting room. The kitchen is unique as it once was an immigrant duplex that was moved from an unknown location and placed against the house. The yard contains lovely old fruit trees.
SCHOENLEBER HOUSE (Hastings Estate) - circa 1870's
This property was originally homesteaded by F. W. Pettygrove. In 1866 a portion of the land was sold to L. B. Hastings, who sold it to Anthony Prongua in 1882.
The present owners renovated the house, keeping as close to the original as possible. The outside of this white frame building is trimmed in blue and redwood. A sturdy skeleton of rough-cut lumber is secured with square nails. False ceilings and up to six layers of wallpaper were removed and replaced with historically correct paint colors and patterned wallpaper borders. Original findings include a plaster ceiling medallion in the living room, along with original wainscoting and brick chimney in the dining room.
The Schoenlebers labored meticulously to restore this historic home to its original state.
PALACE HOTEL (view site)
occupies the two upper floors of HENRY L. TIBBALS BUILDING -1890
Built in the Richardson Romanesque style and constructed for a retired sea captain, one of Port Townsend's most colorful residents, this building has had a checkered history. Originally the first floor housed a billiard parlor and saloon known as the Townsend Tavern, with rooms to rent upstairs. From 1925 to 1933 the upper stories became a brothel and hotel, known as "The Palace of Sweets". Following an early morning raid by the sheriff, that enterprise was eventually closed. A long restoration process of the building was begun in 1976.
The Palace Hotel now occupies the second and third floors of the renovated Victorian building. The hotel features 17 guest rooms and suites, each uniquely decorated in a Victorian theme. A Quilter's retail shop and a Coffee shop are on the building's first level.
A colorful skylight provides interest to the landing on the second story, which serves as a comfortable lobby for guests.
J. M. HITT HOUSE - circa 1890
Never before on the tour is this Victorian shingle house on Monroe Street. The house was built by J. M. Hitt who was the superintendent of the Port Townsend Schools from 1897 - 1904. Hitt is credited with bringing the four-year course accreditation to the school.
In the 1920s the house was owned by Phil Chase, who served as Jefferson Country Sheriff during the prohibition days. It housed soldiers during both world wars and was still divided into apartments when Pete and Betty Pedersen, of Pedersen Oil, returned the house to a single family house, raised their family and lived in the home for many years.
The current owners are still in the midst of a substantial renovation, which so far has included building three new Rumford fireplaces and lifting the house to build a new foundation and living/office area on the ground floor.
JAMES W. STOCKAND HOUSE - 1887
This stately Victorian home was built in 1887 by merchant James W. Stockand. It is the only seven-gabled home in Port Townsend. The current owners moved in a year ago and have begun remodeling projects to enhance the splendor of this beautiful Victorian.
The downstairs entertaining rooms were built in a grand style with unusual cornice molding and elaborate plaster ceiling medallions. Hand-screened Victorian wallpaper found in the parlour and dining room complements the antique furniture in the rooms. A large handmade stained glass window depicting a colorful peacock shines light in the downstairs bathroom. Throughout most of the house, picture and chair railing has been restored and the original wood floors have been refinished. Additional projects include tile work, wallpaper, woodwork and hardware restoration.
ROBERT C. HILL HOUSE - circa 1872
Robert C. Hill moved to Port Townsend in 1882. With Col. Henry Landes, he established the First National Bank.
Distinctive features of this charming Victorian house include unusual fireplaces, stippled woodwork, ornate moldings, hand-cast hinges, built-in-hutches, and a cozy sitting porch. The delightful gardens feature Victorian plantings, holly trees, and rose bushes. The 100-year old upside down Camperdown Elm is on the historical tree register.
MORRIS AND MATTIE SACHS HOUSE - 1890
Commanding majestic water views, this house has been renovated by the current owners in recent years. The home was built for Mattie Landes and Morris Sachs as a wedding gift from the bride's father, Colonel Henry Landes. Col. Landes was one of the city's most influential businessmen.
Morris Sachs arrived in Port Townsend in 1883. He held offices of City attorney, City Treasurer, and Judge of the Superior Court embracing Jefferson, Clallam, Island, San Juan and Kitsap Counties. In 1889, Sachs married Mattie. The marriage was brief; she died two years later, leaving a daughter.
CAPTAIN JAMES McINTYRE HOUSE - circa 1871
James McIntyre built this house for his wife, Sophie Pettygrove, daughter of one of Port Townsend's founders. James, a native of Scotland, went to sea at an early age and was a pioneer of the days of deep-water sailing on the Pacific. The Captain went down with his ship, the steamer Bristol, after it struck a rock on the Alaskan coast in 1902.
The simple rectangular home was enlarged in the 1880s to include such stylish additions as bay windows and an ornate porch. Outstanding features of this house include marble fireplaces and an impressive wood mantelpiece with a mirror with original Victorian tiles.
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH (view site)
With cornerstone laid in 1875, dedicated in 1877, this was the first stone church north of the Columbia River. As population growth necessitated a larger church, the stones were used in the foundation for the new frame building, built in 1889. The pipe organ, one of the very few remaining instruments built by Whalley & Genung, is the oldest organ in the state of Washington still in its original home. A new fellowship hall was dedicated in March 1990.
TEA HOUSE AT THE MASONIC TEMPLE
Step back in time when you visit the charming Victorian Tea House at the Masonic Temple. The room decor will reflect Victorian ambiance. Visitors will be greeted by volunteers in period dress. At the Tea House, Visitors will find a comfortable place to rest and enjoy delectable refreshments, a thank you from the Hospital Auxiliary for attending the Homes Tour.
The Masonic Temple was built in 1932.